pasterupdates.blogg.se

How to install peel and stick tile in bathroom
How to install peel and stick tile in bathroom













In the end (a few minutes later), all was well and he did a fine job cutting that metal strip. I’m afraid of saws so my dad stepped in and helped me out with this step, though I screamed in my head the whole time in fear he would lose a finger. In this collage, I show the original flooring, the subfloor, and then the newly installed vinyl tile.Īnd the final step was trimming and nailing down the carpet transition strip. Next was caulking the edges along the tub, toilet, and sink.

how to install peel and stick tile in bathroom

To cut the peel and stick tile sheets into sections, take a sharp razor blade/ utility knife and cut in between the rows at the desired height. Tada! All the tile has been placed in this photo! But we still had a few steps to go. To reduce waste and for ease of application, I chose to have the tiles go 6 rows high (just enough to work as a black splash like would typically come with a bathroom vanity). Two tips I discovered in the process: vinyl tile can more easily and quickly be cut with regular scissors than with a utility knife, and paper can be used to make a template for cutting tiles around the toilet bowl. Then the hardest part began- the measuring and cutting of the tiles around the walls and toilet. Once I found the sweet spot for the tile in the middle of the room, I started peeling and sticking all of the tiles that would not need to be cut, being careful to ensure that they were placed straight, smooth, and without cracks between them. I wanted the tiles to be left as big as possible with no tiny tile edging. I then found the middle of the room and started playing with tile placement, paying particular attention to how small the tiles would need to be cut along the walls in the room. They are waterproof and resistant to most spillages and splashes, which makes them perfect for highly humid rooms, such as showers, kitchens, and bathrooms.

how to install peel and stick tile in bathroom

There were 6 different designs on all of our marbly tiles and I wanted to ensure they were random throughout the floor when I stuck them down. Peel and stick tiles, also known as self-adhesive vinyl tiles, have become increasingly popular thanks to their versatility, durability, and reduced cost. Once the subfloor was prepped, I opened all of the boxes of tiles and sorted them by design. This is the sequel to my post on removing linoleum here: Removing old linoleum flooring















How to install peel and stick tile in bathroom